#BookReview…The Secret Mother…#BookBoost #SundayMorning #Mustread #BookLovers @ShaliniBoland

‘Are you my mummy?’ 

Tessa Markham comes home to find a little boy in her kitchen. He thinks she’s his mother. But Tessa doesn’t have any children.  

Not anymore. 

She doesn’t know who the child is or how he got there. 

After contacting the police, Tessa comes under suspicion for snatching the boy. She must fight to prove her innocence. But how can she convince everyone she’s not guilty when even those closest to her are questioning the truth? And when Tessa doesn’t even trust herself… 

A chilling, unputdownable thriller with a dark twist that will take your breath away and make you wonder if you can ever trust anyone again. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train and The Sister. 

What readers are saying about Shalini Boland: 

‘What can I say? Just wow. I’m usually never surprised by an ending, but this one blew me away. I am totally in shock and think I’ll have a hangover from this book for a while. A great read that keeps you on your toes until the very last word.’ Stacey Harrell, Goodreads  

‘If anyone can have me reading until 2am and finishing a book in less than 48hrs in the school holidays it’s this author… massive five stars from me.’ Sarah Mackins, UK Crime Book Club, 5 stars 

‘The plot is gripping and once you’ve started reading, you have to keep on reading, you need to know how the story will end.’ Bits About Books, 5 Stars 
  
… one of the most chilling reads of the year for me. Ajoobacats Blog, 5 Stars 
  
‘This is a brilliant psychological thriller. In fact, it’s one of the best I’ve read. It is full of suspense and has more twists and turns than a fairground ride.’ Jackie Roche, UK Crime Book Club, 5 Stars 

‘I thought I knew the direction this story was going go. Then the jaw dropping moment happened!… unputdownable!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 Stars 

‘Once again, Boland has managed to blow my mind with all the twists and turns… an outstanding explosive read!’ Mello and June, 5 Stars

Happy New Year, Intellectual Minds!  This is my first book review for 2018.  I feel so invigorated.  What a way to start off the reading year!  So, let’s get it going.

As usual, Boland never lets her readers down!  She always takes you down one path and you end up in a completely different location.

What would you do if you came home from work and found a cute little doe-eyed brown haired five-year-old boy sitting at your kitchen table drawing pictures and coloring them in?  If you expected this adorable child to be in your home, there wouldn’t be any cause for alarm, but if you don’t have any children, all sorts of bells and whistles should be sounding off!

Tessa Markham could not believe her eyes.  This child sat at her table as if he belonged, and Tessa knew full well that this child did not.  Did she call the police as soon as she discovered this child?  No!  When she questioned the child as to how he got to her home, he wasn’t forthcoming with information.  All he managed to say was “an angel brought me here.  Are you my mummy?”

Totally shocked and terrified, Tessa called her estranged husband.  Of course, Scott would know what she needed to do, right?  Hmm, Scott appeared agitated that she even called him.  When he arrives at his former home, he’s just as shocked as Tessa to see this child sitting at the table drawing and coloring like he doesn’t have a care in the world.  Harry, as they learned of the boy’s name, seemed happy to be within his element, so why were these two adults looking at him like they were crazy?

Scott became outraged with Tessa that instead of calling the police straight away, she called him.  What kind of responsible adult would do that?  Because Tessa was so distraught, Scott finally calls the police and they come and investigate the situation.   Of course, the police separate all parties.  Tessa is trying to keep it together, but suddenly she gets a sinking feeling about Harry.  She doesn’t want to see this child ripped away and placed in foster care.  Perhaps she went about this situation all wrong, or did she?

Well, readers, this is where our story takes flight.  As usual, Boland has a way of twisting plots in a hundred different ways until you’re so confused as to who is doing what, you’re not clear what is happening, until the ending smacks you in the face.  What an incredible story Boland has managed to tell.

This story was really good and it reads pretty quickly.  Once you get started, it’s hard to put the book down.  I have to say, though, this storyline didn’t make me earn it like some of Boland’s other novels.  It’s a good story, but for me it came off as a bit predictable.  Once I figured out a few scenarios, it wasn’t too hard to put two and two together.  However, having said that, it doesn’t deflect from the story and it’s very entertaining and keeps you on the edge of your seat. 

Mello & June gives The Secret Mother four mummy hi-fives.  As you journey along with Tessa and all that she’s been through and what is going to eventually happen to her, you’ll be hard pressed to put this book down.  Actually, if you have a few hours to set aside, you could read this book in one day, it’s that damn good.  Boland, as usual, always keeps her readers front and center.  Another masterpiece from the author of twisting plots.  Great job!  Until next time, Intellectual Minds, keep on reading!

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *